Supermarket Love

There’s a new Supermarket opening up in Double Bay, it is bigger, better, shinier horraayyyy.

Supermarket shopping is a necessity, and generally I don’t mind it, It still counts as shopping and no one is stopping me from throwing in a giant block of chocolate…. or Stilton. But I always have kids with me and when I do it, I want to do it once. tick. DONE.

This blog however is about what Supermarkets lack.  I have lived in a few places over the years and have come up with this:

10 Tips to a better Supermarket

1. Coffee. Most of the NZ Supermarkets have a barista willing to make you a flat white as soon as you get through the doors and as we all know, everyone functions better with a coffee – ideally run by some clever independent coffee shop – with exceptional coffee.

2. Coffee Cup holder. Yep Essential, coffee drinking is almost impossible otherwise and I don’t know why they aren’t everywhere. grr

cup holder trolly

3. Free kids rolls.  A long time ago, the supermarket used to have a big bin of fresh baked white rolls.  you were allowed to take one per kid – free – to keep them and you sane for the first half of your shopping trip.  A little good-will went a long way I can tell you.

4. Better range.  I have found that the big Australian supermarkets aren’t as supportive as you would think! Sure, they supply Australian made, but only the companies big enough to buy a spot.  Where is the small local jam company?, where is the small fresh pasta company? where are the beautiful cuts of organic meat? and where the hell is all the coffee?  The selection is rubbish! I want beans that were roasted locally in the last week, not something mass produced from Italy that’s probably been there for months. Fire the procurement team and make each store responsible for supporting the community. Jeez.

Great to see the new store in Double Bay has a big Kosher section, nice to see someone is thinking of their customers.

5. Cheese Room.  enough said

cheese

6. Fresh Squeezed Juice.  At Moore Wilsons from my home town, you walk in and the smells are insane.  all that fresh produce and deli meats and coffee and … fresh squeezed orange juice.  A lovely man spends all day at the juice squeezy section filling various sized bottles and you can pick up yours on the way past… squeezed a second ago!  mmmmm

Heck, you can pop it into your cup holder .

orange juice

7. Authentic Patisserie/ boulangerie.  (This is my list after all)

pastry

8. alcohol.  I know there is always a liquor store close by with the supermarkets here, but there is something rather wonderful about not having to pay twice, or drag your children through a bottle store without feeling like I will be reported. I want to be able to partner a wine with the meal I just chose. I want to shop once, and once a week, and do it well.

9. Bulk Bins.  nuts and almond meal and dried fruit galore.  I want it extensive, I want it well stocked and I want it for what it is… bulk purchase prices.

bulk-bins

10. More checkout people.  there are usually 8 isles and only two people on them.  WHY! don’t you know how many kinder surprises will be opened if my child needs to be here any longer! Honestly, Next time they take one, I’m going to say it was out of my control and refuse to pay.  I’m not taking their impulse purchase palava sitting down.

What would improve your weekly shop?

Leave a Reply

