To be prepared

I don’t know about you lot but I struggle a little with planning, especiallyif we have been invited somewhere. I find it quite the achievement to herd all 3 cats kids in the car, let alone have them looking presentable with snacks, books and shoes. I run through the house turning off lights, throwing another load on and apply some lippy (I never actually apply lippy, I’m not even sure why I wrote that, I occassionally apply blistex but I don’t think that counts) so it is usually 5 minutes into our journey that I realise I haven’t brought a gift. We are inevitably running late and so we turn up with a tribe of hungry crazed children and not a crumb between us.  It’s not cool.

We have also just returned from a visit to NZ staying with and visiting family and friends.  Each requiring some sort of acknowledgement and only half actually receiving one.

I worry over what to give them, I worry that it’s not perfect and then I realise it’s too late, there’s no time and they have to make do with a packet of Tim Tams from the service station.

The thing is I don’t prepare, I don’t stash away… and it is a serious failing of mine that I plan to rectify.

During our clearance sale I met such lovely women, many of whom are just brilliant shoppers, they buy for next season, they pre-empt the next birthday parties, babies are always being born and they will always put away for Christmas.  It’s clever.  The time and frustration and money spent on last minute shopping needs to become a thing of the past.

So here are some excellent deals from our site and some ideas from around the web that might help you join me on my crusade (if you aren’t already an awesome stasher), they don’t have to be expensive to be winners and in the long run the money and time saved is huge.

For those expecting

blog5

Nibbly Bits Abacus Necklace, fashion and function combined; the sweet little Bird Tee now only $12.50, Bella Buttercup Baby Bundles -just because we are changing bottoms, it shouldn’t mean you can’t do it in style; delicate wee organic cotton romper by Nurtured by Nature, and their beautiful organic cotton Snuggle Suit (in white to be safe) – half price! And finally the gorgeous Sevi Pull along Zebra that will be treasured for many years to come.

Hosts gift

Image

Samba seasoning from The Spice Peddler, beautiful spices, peppers, chillies and rubs for your friends who love to cook; a big bunch of flowers from the local grocer is always solid, I’m a sucker for Peonies, and a little home made lemon and ginger which I found at Jillee.

Childs 267th birthday party of the year to attend

Obviously ages and sex will vary but here’s a bit of a head start.  You could also try making your own princess/super hero capes (I made my girls out of rather nasty pink velour with white fluffy trim, they love it).   Try this lovely site, I also recommend Atlas’s, because come on, who didn’t love those as a kid. Try this.

Image

6 in a row Pretty in Pink, Alphabet Soup Off Limits Tee, Little Tyro Magnetic Cuckoo Clock, Sevi Pull Along Cow, Flatout Frankie Little Roar Head, Playon Crayons, Seedling Good things for Busy People, Dan300 Nanas softie and Lindi Kingi Baby pink bracelet.

Congratulations on your new home/renovation!

Image

For a while there we found ourselves giving lemon trees to everyone we knew for house warming gifts… I suspect it had something to do with gin, there is something nice about a living gift though… Unles of course the renovation included an uber expensive landscape architect.

Gift hampers filled with practical things is always appreciated so stock up on lovely hand soaps other fancy smellies, throw together with herbs/tea towels or perhaps a big box of cakes and pies… cakes and pies mmm.  Finally, as every move is tough work, a beer or cider will inevitably be required and it may as well be handy, so I have included these nifty silver magnetic bottle openers for the fridge. I just quietly want one of these and so much classier than this … No.  Just… No.

Leave a Reply

